Wednesday, April 3, 2019

States Taxing Social Security

Dear Daytonian,

Way back in 1984, the federal government began taxing Social Security benefits, but did you know that thirteen states, not including Ohio thank goodness, also tax those benefits to varying degrees.  The worst offenders are the eclectic combination of Minnesota, North Dakota, Vermont and West Virginia, which mirror the federal tax rules.  Montana, Colorado, New Mexico, Utah, Nebraska, Kansas, Missouri, Connecticut and Rhode Island have their own individual rules, all different of course.

I guess some states just want to tax you twice on the same money.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Mile-Based Exit Numbers

Dear Daytonian, Exit numbers in Ohio are useful for more than just knowing which off-ramp to take.  In the 1970s Ohio renumbered from sequen...